The affordable housing sector in California has accomplished a lot over the past half-century.  Noted for the sense of mission, for talent, experience, and effectiveness, the affordable housing sector is defined by its broad range of participants: from both private and non-profit developers, lenders and investors, to visionary public sector leaders and philanthropic foundations.  In calling attention to the heroes among us in the affordable housing effort, it is the distinct privilege of the California Housing Consortium to inaugurate those who have made a profound impact in the housing sector into the California Housing Hall of Fame. In order to be inducted into the Housing Hall of Fame, an individual or organization must demonstrate a seminal or substantial contribution toward advancing the cause of affordable housing in California.

The Board of Directors of the California Housing Consortium has conferred to recognize heroes in the field by gauging leadership characteristics such as innovation, effectiveness, inclusiveness, impact, tenure, collaborative spirit, and inspirational records of service across (5) distinct categories:

Lifetime Achievement
Public Sector
Private Sector
Non-Profit Sector
Community Development Lending/Philanthropic Sector
Dianne Spaulding Local Leadership


Lifetime Achievement

This award recognizes a dedicated individual who over many years has shown a continuing commitment to affordable housing through their involvement in financing, development, investment, management, advocacy, or the legislative process that has contributed to the greater understanding and advancement of affordable housing throughout California.

  • Arnold Sternberg
  • Senator Alan Cranston
  • Don Terner
  • Janet Falk
  • Fran Wagstaff
  • John Stewart
  • Theresa Parker
  • Beverly Fretz-Brown
  • Maureen Higgins
  • Christine Minnehan
  • Margaret Schrand
  • Gary Squier
  • Will Cooper, Snr
  • Jeanne Peterson
  • Peter Carey
  • Hunter Johnson


Public Sector

These are two leaders who have had a tremendous impact on affordable housing in California. Both served with distinction as Presidents Pro Tem of the California State Senate:

  • The Honorable David Roberti
  • The Honorable John Burton

The following (4) elected state leaders were instrumental in the bi-partisan effort to forge, promote, and pass PROPOSITION 1C in 2006, the $2.85 billion housing bond to sustain and expand existing housing programs for shelter, supportive service rental housing, and homeownership opportunities:

  • Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger
  • Senate President Don Perata
  • Assembly Speaker Fabian Nunez
  • Sen. Min. Leader Dick Ackerman


  • Phil Angelides – California State Treasurer 1998-2006
  • Lynn Jacobs – California Department of Housing & Community Development
  • Betsy Morris – San Diego Housing Commission
  • Judy Nevis – CA Dept. of Housing and Community Development
  • Bill Pavao – California Tax Credit Allocation Committee
  • Alex Sanchez – Santa Clara Housing Authority (and CHC Founder)
  • Leslye Corsiglia – City of San Jose
  • Cathy Creswell – California Department of Housing & Community Development
  • Mark DeSaulnier – California State Senator
  • Toni Atkins – California State Assemblymember
  • Bill Huang, City of Pasadena
  • Richard Gentry, San Diego Housing Commission
  • California Emerging Technology Fund


Private Sector

An industry visionary who not only understands the complexity of affordable housing, but has taken a leadership role in advancing the development, financing, or investing in affordable housing projects that add value to local communities and enhance the lives of the people who become affordable housing residents.

  • Keeley Kirkendall – PNC ARCS Commercial Mortgage
  • Nancy McLaughlin – Managing Director, National Lending & Housing Programs, Low Income Investment Fund
  • AF Evans Company, Inc
  • AMCAL Multi-Housing
  • The Related Companies of California
  • Union Bank of California
  • Silicon Valley Leadership Group
  • Natalie Gubb – Gubb & Barshay
  • Jim Silverwood – Affirmed Housing Group
  • Patrick Sabelhaus
  • Lucy Dunn – Orange County Business Council
  • Geoff Brown – USA Properties Fund Inc.
  • Thomas Safran – Thomas Safran & Associates


Non-Profit Sector

Were it not for the exemplary role of the non-profit sector over the past several decades, the affordable housing mission in California would be woefully under- served. Indeed, for over 30 years, the following non-profit housing development organizations have been making a critical positive impact in the lives of low-income households in California.


  • Carol Galante-President, BRIDGE Housing Corporation
  • G. Allan Kingston -Vice Chairman of the Board, National Community Renaissance Corporation
  • Dianne Spaulding – Executive Director, Non Profit Housing Association of Northern California
  • Joel Rubenzahl, Community Economics
  • Bernard Deasy, Merritt Community Capital Corporation


  • A Community of Friends
  • Burbank Housing
  • Cabrillo Economic Development Corporation
  • California Housing Partnership Corporation
  • Century Housing
  • Christian Church Homes
  • Community Housing Improvement Program
  • Community HousingWorks
  • EAH
  • East Bay Asian Local Development Corporation
  • Eden Housing
  • Human Investment Project
  • Jamboree Housing Corporation
  • LA Community Design Center
  • LifeSTEPS
  • Mercy Housing
  • Mid-Peninsula Housing Coalition
  • National Farm Workers Service Center
  • Oakland Community Housing, Inc.
  • Orange County Community Housing Corp.
  • Palo Alto Housing Corporation
  • People’s Self-Help Housing
  • Rural Community Housing Development Corporation
  • Satelitte Housing Inc.
  • Self-Help Enterprises
  • Self-Help Home Improvement Project
  • Wakeland Housing & Community Development Corporation


Community Development Lending/Philanthropic Sector

An individual, foundation, or charitable giving arm of a corporation or bank that has shown a continuing commitment to affordable housing through charitable contributions, program related investments, or ongoing efforts to revitalize neighborhoods through economic and housing equity investments.

  • Alan Stein – JMP Securities
  • Federal Home Loan Bank of San Francisco
  • S.H. Cowell Foundation
  • California Community Foundation
  • California Community Reinvestment Corporation
  • Sobrato Family Foundation
  • The San Francisco Foundation
  • Enterprise Community Partners
  • Golden State Acquisition Fund
  • The Bank of America Merrill Lynch Low-Income Housing Challenge


The Dianne Spaulding Local Leadership Award

A regional champion whose work in the affordable housing industry has greatly impacted their local area. This award, created in 2014, was named after the former Executive Director of the Non-Profit Housing Association of Northern California who, through her 30 years of leadership, elevated the importance of affordable housing to new levels in Northern California.

  • Dianne Spaulding – NPH
  • Shiloh Ballard
  • Kevin Zwick – Housing Trust Silicon Valley
  • Mark Trotz – Housing for Health